Riding the waves

I’ve embarked on my latest adventure! After several challenging months and the release of my CD, Solo/So High, this summer has been unforgettable with performances at the TD Halifax Jazz Fest being a highlight. Teaching at the Suzuki Summer Camp in Durham, Ontario, with my dear friend and sensational violinist, Brooke Stewart warmed my heart past the 30•C external temperature. Technology is being difficult today so I’ll make this short. 

My belly is playing host to butterflies as this new experience leads to an unknown path. I’ll be living on a ferry for the next week as I take on the entertainment contract. It’s the first step towards my dream of entertaining on a cruise ship. Small yet meaningful steps. 

The wonderful and brilliant owner of Nova Yoga where I had been teaching the past two years suggest I blog about this experience. So here it goes! Just as you commit to practicing on your mat, I am committing to writing…EVERYDAY! My gear is set-up, I know where I’ll sleep and eat, and I know my duties in case of an emergency. I’ve got a hard hat and safety vest. I met my former Brownies leader in the crew mess (staff dining hall) which reminded me of how small the world really is. 

So, words of wisdom, especially those of you who are going back to school or trying something new in the fall: do your best to enjoy the unknown. Those butterflies in your stomach can serve as a reminder that you are ALIVE and for those of you facing an unknown that you have not chosen, remember everything always works out. That’s how life goes!

Here’s to you. Here’s to me. Here’s to playing my heart out for the next week and riding the waves literally on the boat and figuratively as I navigate this new path!

One thought on “Riding the waves

  1. Pingback: Thanks MusicNL! | Ideas and thoughts from Laura Madonna Murray

Leave a comment